Monday, March 12, 2018

Robert Lightfoote Memorial Scholarship

2018 Lightfoote Scholarship winners Jacab Helms (upper photo) and Tarak Patel (lower)

Every spring, Northern United Soccer Club is proud to offer Bob Lightfoote Memorial Scholarships to club members who are planning to attend full-time college in upcoming autumn. Applicants are not necessarily limited to high school seniors. Further critieria is found below. Awards are typically presented at our club’s Mountain Mayhem tournament in May.

The scholarships are named in honor of Mr. Robert Lightfoote of Queensbury who served as club registrar and coach for many years.

2009: Ryan Conklin (Glens Falls)

2010: Spencer Thibault (Lake George)

2011: Caroline Murphy (Lake George)

2012: Mackenzie Perkett (Lake George)

2013: Mason Vreugde (Lake George)

2014: Evan Brooks (South Glens Falls) and Emily Lindsay (Lake George)

2015: Jessica Quay (Lake George) and Patrick Resse (Glens Falls)

2016: Nate Wilhelm (Glens Falls), Elizabeth Spada (South Glens Falls), Kerry Walker (Lake George), Kellen Wolfe (Glens Falls)

2017: Geoff Barber (South Glens Falls)

2018: Jacab Helms (Lake George) and Tarak Patel (South Glens Falls)

Applicant qualifications
-Must be attending a 2- or 4-year college in the upcoming fall as a full-time student. (Note: you do not have to presently be a high school senior to apply)
-Must have played with Northern United SC in the preceding two years.(An exception may be made for children of board members and officers who’ve played with the club at some point in the past).
-Must not have played with another club since last season with Northern United.
-Must not have won this award in the past

2018 award
-Application must be received by the club no later than April 15, 2018
-Contact for an application form.